Tags


I’ve talked a lot about history, but what helped me learn about it a lot was the fact that I had a family tree full of significant leaders in history.

By 2013, my family tree on Ancestry.com had almost 1,000 people on it! My Great-Grandparents on my mother’s side came from Germany, and on my Dad’s side, my ancestors came from the British Isles. I soon became very interested in Ancestry.com after I discovered that I was descended from Scottish royalty! As of today, my family tree numbers almost 10,000 people, many of them royal, and most of them added by myself!

All of my ancestors have great importance, but some of them are very significant in history:

William Bradford, the Puritan who helped lead settlers from England to form Massachusetts, John Steele, the founder of Connecticut (who I’m descended of in the male line), Clovis, the first king of the Franks, William The Conqueror of Normandy, who conquered England from Herald Godwinson, Vladimir the Great and Olga, prince and princess of Kiev, who introduced Christianity to their country, Olaf II of Norway, who did the same and died in battle against Canute the Great, Alfred the Great, who subdued the Vikings and became king of a unified England, Charlemagne, the first Holy Roman Emperor and ruler of all Europe, Charles Martel, who crushed the Muslims at the battle of Tours/Poitiers in 732, El Cid, who fought in the Spanish Reconquista, and many more, giving me an ancestry of royalty from all over Europe!

I take great pride in my ancestors, who fought on both sides in seemingly every conflict, and I hope that you can find some of them and more on your own family tree someday.

