Tags

, ,


Joshua TreeYesterday I returned from a Boy Scout trip to Joshua Tree National Park in California, and I can tell you it was an awesome trip!

Joshua Tree National Park has been a U.S. National Monument since  1936, and became a national park in 1994. It occupies 790,000 acres of land, which is larger than the state of Rhode Island. It is named for the Joshua Trees that occupy this park.

Joshua Trees are actually not trees; they are Yucca (plants). Joshua Trees live mostly in California, but are also in Nevada and Arizona. They were named after Joshua in the Bible, Mormons naming them because Joshua Trees looked like Joshua was spreading out his arms, pointing to the “promised land”, California.

Joshua Tree National Park is a great place to camp and see its “trees”, but it is also very famous for its rocks. Joshua Tree’s rocks are there to be climbed; I climbed up plenty of rocks myself!

Joshua Tree National Park is definitely a place to go, and I’m glad I went there! I hope future rock climbers will have as much fun there as I had!

