Tags

, ,


Possibly the greatest film series of all time. That is how we can describe Star Wars, a series of now seven movies. Star Wars has changed the world of film dramatically, and is a huge success in nearly every field.

It all started with George Lucas, who came up with the idea of a sci-fi movie with lightsaber battles. The first movie, Star Wars: A New Hope was created in 1977 a huge box office and commercial success. This movie was followed by two other successful movies: The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, released in 1980 and 1983. These movies were produced by Lucas’s own company, Lucasfilm Ltd.

In 1999, a new Star Wars movie was released, The Phantom Menace, and followed by two others. These were prequels, movies made after the originals but set to take place before the original movie’s time. These movies were less successful, but had better graphics and technology.

Everyone who has seen Star Wars has a favorite (and possibly least-favorite) character. My favorite Jedi is Obi-Wan-Kenobi, and my least favorite Jedi is Anakin Skywalker (though Darth Vader is cool). Still, Darth Vader is not my favorite villain; my (and my brother’s) favorite is General Grievous. My least favorite character (and many would agree with me) is Jar Jar Binks, because he is annoying in my opinion.

Today these six movies were joined by a seventh film: Star Wars: The Force Awakens, by Walt Disney Studios, the new owner of Star Wars. This new movie features many characters, both old and new, and it is predicted to be a huge success! I am sure it will, and Star Wars fans around the world can celebrate. The wait is over.