Tags

,


Today Is Halloween! It is a time for Carving Pumpkins and Trick-or-Treating.

File:Trick or treat in sweden.jpeg

Trick-or-Treaters

 

 

Trick-or-Treating was actually invented in the Medieval Era. Children in costumes would go door to door and entertain people for treats.  The first Halloween may have occurred earlier. There was a Celtic festival to celebrate the coming of Winter from October 31-November 1, and children would dress up as spirits and receive gifts on their behalf. It was believed that the spirits of fairies and souls of the dead would visit earth and must be appeased.

I am going Trick-or-Treating tonight with friends. I usually don’t get the “trick”, but I love the “treat.”

I think Halloween is a time for fun. Trick-or-Treating and costume parties make Halloween special, and I love the knowledge that the Holiday Season has begun!

