Tags

,


Yesterday I got back home from a two-day trip to the Goat Canyon Trestle in the Anza-Borrego desert in Southern California, a marvel in engineering.

20161113_085759

The Goat Canyon Trestle

 

In 1906, work began on the railroad that led to the Trestle, which did not stop until the 30’s. There are many tunnels and trestles, and I hiked seven tunnels with my Boy Scout troop. There have been many disturbances on the railroad; a hurricane destroyed some of the track, as did a fire suspected to be arson. Also, in 1977, an engineer thought he saw another train approaching his train on the track, so he hit the brake and his train derailed.

In 1932, an earthquake collapsed one of the main tunnels, which forced the engineers to build the Goat Canyon Trestle, the largest wooden trestle in the world. While they were still dating, my dad once took my mom to the Trestle, but they took the long way of 22 miles. He kept saying that the trestle was “Just Around the Corner,” but it was not. That saying is now a Steele family joke.  I hiked the huge trestle myself many times. It can be hard to go the 15 or more miles, but it is worth it by far. I had much fun on that trip!

Something awful (an earthquake) caused one of the most awesome constructions ever, the Goat Canyon Trestle, which we can all marvel about when we get there. It seems that greatness really can be Just Around the Corner.

